Mapping and Orientation of Countries where Homosexuality may be Punished by Death.

Laws on Homosexuality in African Nations

Corrective’ Rape in South Africa: Targeted Violence Against Women

Homophobia and Gay Bashing in South Africa / Africa / World

Books and Articles on the Gay Situation in South Africa

Gay Newspapers and LGBTI information Portals and Sharing

Myths About the LGBTQI Community

LGBTQI Suicidality

Rape Crisis Centers

Academic Gender Studies on the LGBTQI

Tightening laws and increasing punishments

Legal rights are diminishing for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex

(LGBTI) people across the African continent.


It’s already illegal to be gay in Uganda. If you’re found to have had a same-sex relationship, you can expect to spend seven years in prison. But Uganda’s anti-gay laws have become even harsher.

In December 2013, the notorious Anti-Homosexuality Bill was passed by Uganda’s Parliament. It has lengthened sentences for consensual homosexual sex, and extended punishments to those ‘promoting’ homosexuality.


Nigeria already outlaws same-sex relationships. But the conditions of imprisonment have become wider, and the punishment much harsher, when Nigeria’s President passed amendments to existing laws in January 2014.

But there are some rays of light…

Mozambique recently removed the Portuguese colonial-era laws that criminalised homosexual behavoir, removing a clause that outlawed ‘vices against nature’.

But that’s only the first step in a long fight for full equality in the country. The organisation that successfully lobbied the authorities to make the change, Lambda, is still not officially recognised as an NGO.

Illegal or legal? Breaking it down by country

Death penalty

Mauritania, Sudan, Northern Nigeria, Southern Somalia


Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Comoros, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo-Brazzaville, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, South Africa.

© Copyright - Pink Stone